is spanish?

Call Today For A Free Consultation

Local: (407) 871-6375 Toll Free: (866) 300-5468
En Español

Florida is a No-Fault State. How Can This Affect Me if I Am in a Car Accident?

Since Florida is a no-fault state, this means that as an auto insurance policyholder, your damages are covered by your own insurance provider, regardless of who was at fault in your accident. Several states have no-fault insurance laws in place. These laws, despite claiming that they will lower insurance costs, have actually been found to raise insurance costs to drivers. Insured drivers are often confused about what no-fault means for them and how their coverage would be different in states without no-fault laws.

If you have been involved in a car accident, it is important that you seek medical care for your injury as soon as possible. Do not worry about insurance coverage or paying for your treatment until after you have received medical care – your health and safety should always come first. After you have received a diagnosis and treatment, contact an experienced car accident attorney to determine how to proceed with your claim.

No Fault Means you are Required to Carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Benefits

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) benefits are the benefits that a victim may receive after he or she is injured in an accident. These include medical expenses and compensation for lost wages, and any other needs that might arise as a result of the injury. For example, some victims need to purchase mobility scooters, seek psychological counseling to work through their emotional trauma, or hire domestic help to take care of the chores they cannot do while recovering. All of these needs can be covered by a PIP claim.

The only circumstance under which an injured Florida driver may seek medical compensation from an at-fault party is if he or she is suffering from a permanent injury. Some examples of permanent injuries include blindness, loss of a limb, or paralysis.

In Florida, all insured drivers are required to carry at least $10,000 in PIP coverage and $10,000 in property liability damage (PDL) coverage. In the event a driver is responsible for another party’s property damage, this second type of coverage can compensate the property owner’s losses.

Only Medical Expenses are Covered by No-Fault Insurance Laws

If your vehicle suffers damage in an accident, you may seek compensation from the liable party’s automobile insurance provider to have your car replaced or repaired. No-fault insurance laws only require drivers to carry PIP coverage, which means that drivers only receive direct compensation for their injury-related needs from their own insurance providers.

Winter Park Car Accident Attorneys

After a car accident, figuring out how to seek compensation for your losses can be complicated. You might be suffering from an injury and thus eligible for your own PIP benefits and also need compensation for damage to your vehicle, necessitating an auto insurance claim against the negligent party. Work with an experienced car accident attorney to determine every type of claim you are entitled to file and how to proceed with each of them. For guidance and representation in the Orlando, Florida area, contact Hornsby Law Group today.

MileMark Media - Practice Growth Solutions

© 2015 - 2017 Hornsby Law. All rights Reserved.
This law firm website is managed by MileMark Media.

Contact
Us Now