Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu

Been In A Car Crash … With Someone Uninsured! What Now?


An auto accident is never a pleasant experience, and on Florida roads, they are becoming more and more common. However, there is still a persistent population in Florida that does not comply with the state’s insurance requirements, meaning that if you are in a car crash involving one of those people, you might have serious problems being reimbursed for the medical bills you will no doubt acquire. An auto accident lawyer may be of help in this issue.

Insurance & The Uninsured

Florida is a no-fault state, meaning that the bills stemming from an accident are supposed to be paid not by proceeds from a lawsuit, but by one’s own insurance company (or by the insurance company of the person who was involved in the accident with you). Each Florida driver is required to carry certain amounts of both personal injury protection (PIP) and property damage liability (PDL) insurance, meaning that anyone injured – even a pedestrian – may draw on coverage if they get hurt. However, there are many drivers who flout that law and carry little to no coverage, for a variety of reasons.

According to the Insurance Information Institute (III), Florida’s estimated percentage of uninsured motorists was 27 percent – comfortably the highest in the nation, with the next highest hovering around 23.5 percent. While numbers have dropped somewhat in the years since the data was measured, they still hover over 20 percent, which means that on any given day, one in five Florida drivers is driving with no insurance coverage. The odds will eventually catch up with them – never mind the drivers they may strike and injure.

Possible Remedies

If you are involved in an auto accident, the majority of the claim will be paid by your insurer – Florida law requires PIP coverage to handle 80 percent of all “reasonable expenses” for medically necessary treatment. However, that 20 percent left over can and does add up. Generally, if you are injured in an accident where another person is said to be at fault, the remaining 20 percent of your bills are supposed to be paid out of their insurance coverage. However, if their insurer refuses, or if they are uninsured and have no insurance, your options may be limited.

Your best option is to sue the person that you believe to be responsible for your injuries. However, Florida law only permits you to bring suit against a negligent driver or other person who caused your auto accident under specific conditions – namely, if you suffer permanent injury, or a “significant and permanent loss” of a bodily function or a limb. If your injuries are not severe, it is likely that Florida law will prevent your filing suit. However, there may be other ways you can seek reimbursement, and enlisting an attorney who understands these cases is always a good idea.

Contact An Orlando Auto Accident Lawyer

An automobile accident can leave you seriously injured <I>and</I> in a financial hole. If you have been injured and you believe it was due to another person’s negligence, you need an experienced legal professional on your side so you can ensure your best chance at having your bills reimbursed. The Orlando car accident lawyers at the Hornsby Law Group can help you with that, since you should not have to be stuck with thousands in medical bills because of a bad day. Contact us today for a free consultation.



Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

By submitting this form I acknowledge that form submissions via this website do not create an attorney-client relationship, and any information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.

Skip footer and go back to main navigation